People Pleasing

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10 NIV

I have always been pretty independent.  A leader by nature.  However, I picked up patterns of people pleasing along the way. Particularly for approval of those that I cared for and respected.  The most dramatic crossroad happened for me in ministry.  I was serving in a ministry that was not feeling aligned with what I was sensing from the Holy Spirit.  I ignored occasional internal conflicts.  Finally, God spoke.  Audibly.  Loudly.  He asked if I loved Him.  Of course I said yes!  He asked again and I said yes again.  He asked a third time and asked me to walk away from the ministry.  Then I began to negotiate with God.  Very quietly I heard Him say, “I thought you loved me.”  I felt like I had been punched in the gut.  I dropped the ministry like a hot potato.  Transformation followed with eyes on Jesus all the way. I have never looked back. It has taught me to hold onto things much more loosely and rely on God to direct my steps. I am very thankful and much more tuned in to the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

John 14:16, 14:26, 15:26, 16:7

Leave a Reply

