A New Fashion Statement

retro_11000890-012814-int

“12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.” Colossians 3:12-13

As I read these verses, I started to imagine putting each of these characteristics on as if they were articles of clothing.  A beautiful gown of compassion with a robe or jacket of kindness over it.  Gorgeous custom boots of humility.  Dazzling ear rings of gentleness and a necklace of patience.  Then my make-up would look flawless with a foundation of forgiveness.  I really had to sit with that for a while.  It sounded regal and beautiful in such a stately and timeless way.  It made me think of all the money I invest in clothes, shoes, the latest face creams and moisturizers.  Closets of clothes are all over my house!  But God’s garments are timeless, ageless classics.  They never go out of style and their beauty never fades.

Lord, help me dress in these beautiful characteristics that reflect You.  Help me wear each of them daily and with joy.  Thank you for teaching me a new way to dress for success!

Isaiah 61:10, Ephesians 1:7-8, Romans 5:5, Ephesians 2:10, Hebrews 12:3, 7, 10

Leave a Reply

