Third Time is a Charm

“5 No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them. Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:5-9 NIV

This passage starts off with two BIG promises:

  • No one will be able to stand against you
  • I will never leave you or forsake you

God even gives Joshua a reference point: Moses.  He assured Joshua that it could be the same for him and just as powerful a demonstration of God’s power as it was with Moses. The man who delivered God’s message to Pharaoh that ushered in the plagues of Egypt, delivered the Israelite nation across the Red Sea, destroyed the Egyptian army, and received the 10 commandments (twice) from God Himself. That’s a lot.

The instruction in order to receive that promise was just as clear:

  • Be strong and courageous
  • Be strong and very courageous
  • Meditate on the Word of God day and night
  • Be strong and courageous

I love when God repeats things for impact.  He made it very clear that we are to “be strong and courageous!”

That’s not always easy.  It means sometimes we have to block out all the obstacles we see in front of us. We have to approach God and listen for His solution instead of getting caught up in the fray.  When I compare Joshua and Caleb’s accounts of Canaan to the 10 other spies, they were clearly strong and courageous! They saw the promise.  The others saw the obstacles.

There are times that I could focus on all the opposition in my life on many fronts. I choose not to.  I see God’s promise in front of me.  I want to press through to His promise for me.  I am thirsty to see His promise manifested in my life.  I will persist and be strong and courageous for my God will never leave me or forsake me.  If I am strong and courageous and rely on His presence and care, no one – be it flesh or spirit — will be able to stand against me.

Father, give me strength and courage to stand firm on Your promises! In the Blessed Name of Jesus, Amen.

Numbers 14:7-9, Philippians 4:1, 2 Thessalonians 2:15, Jude 1:20

4 thoughts on “Third Time is a Charm

  1. This passage in Joshua has always been very, very special and important to me, empowering me as needed. What promises and power He has generously given to those of us who believe!

    Like

  2. These words gives me courage and power whenever I read this passage! If He is with us, no one will be gainst us! He is our strong tower ( Prov 18:10)
    A big AMEN to the above!
    Thanks for sharing this to empowering us! Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

