The List

4 “Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: 6He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn, your vindication like the noonday sun.” Psalm 37:4-6 NIV

The first time I read this scripture I stopped at verse 4: He will give you the desires of your heart.  That’s all I needed to hear.  I got my list ready!  I prayed diligently over that list.  Fervently.  It was full of all the “I wants” for my life.  I got tired. I got angry. And eventually I got confused.  After some time went by I went back to read the scripture to see if I missed something.

As I read verse 5, it said “Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and He will do this.”  I took a deep breath.  There was a catch.  My wants were not His wants.  Had I truly committed my way to His way? Was I asking for His will to be done? Here? Now? In my life?  That was the beginning of a big shift for me.

It was followed up by a time of testing.  I had to learn to let go of things I held onto too tightly.  I couldn’t have it both ways.  It was either His way or my way. It’s one day at a time.  I genuinely want my heart to be a reflection of His.  Every day I lay my heart before Him and ask Him to take it and make it His.  Keep it straight for me.

1 Peter 1:8-10, John 15:7-17

Leave a Reply

