We Want What We Do Not Have

Embed from Getty Images
2″
You desire but do not have, so you kill. You covet but you cannot get what you want, so you quarrel and fight. You do not have because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” James 4:2-3 NIV

Wow. This is not a very pretty picture.  Wanting what I do not have so I take it. Asking for what I want and not receiving because my motives are wrong. Motives for my own pleasure.

God loves us more wildly than we can imagine. But when we are afraid we have a hard time trusting that there is no trickery in God.  Because our hearts are injured we become greedy and try to grab what we think should be ours.

To get out of my own brokenness, it helps to stay focused on the present. When I look too far out I start to flounder.  It is when I stay engaged in the present that I am in a better position to rejoice!  Savor God’s blessings. Savor His provision. Savor the abundance. It keeps me in a frame of mind to count my blessings and celebrate the moment.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, Psalm 62:5, Luke 11:13

Leave a Reply

