Constant Love

Embed from Getty Images
21 
No wonder we are happy in the Lord! For we are trusting him. We trust his holy name. 22 Yes, Lord, let your constant love surround us, for our hopes are in you alone. Psalm 33:21-22 Living Bible

I have an old Living Bible that belonged to my mother who went on to be with Jesus some 23 years ago. Every time I touch the pages I can’t help but think of her. I think of sitting in church together on Sunday mornings.  I think of her attentiveness to the message.  I think of her care in preparing a fabulous Sunday dinner every week.  I think of the richness and depth of her love.  Unconditional acceptance.

I still miss her. As I read these verses, I know that she was happy in the Lord!  I know that she had the contentment and peace of His constant love.  She shared that contentment and constant love with me. I am so thankful to have had a praying Godly mother!  I know I am here in my walk with God as a direct result of those prayers.

As I sit and meditate on these words in Psalms, I find myself asking God what He and Enoch talked about.  That was such an intimate, loving relationship that God scooped him right up!  First, I got this picture of a pillow.  It’s the difference between a stiff decorative pillow that sits somewhere for people to look at but never touch versus a pillow that gets all smushed just right to comfortably lay your head on at night.  It seems like we are supposed to mold into God like that and He molds into us at the same time.

Then I had the picture of holding hands with God and walking and talking. Delighting in each other’s company. True companionship.  We tell each other what is on each other’s heart.  Listening intently.  Honoring each other’s desires.

Lord, forgive me when I don’t listen to the desires of Your heart.  Thank you for always listening to mine!  I adore You Almighty God.  Thank you for giving me my mom to show me how to love well and unconditionally.  Thank you for my daughter.  Help me to always love her with Your heart.  Show me how to love others with Your heart as well.

Psalm 33

One thought on “Constant Love

  1. Pingback: Are you a living sacrifice, or have you gone AWOL? | Fairy Godsister's Blog

Leave a Reply

