Vitamin E

Embed from Getty Images

“For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised.” Hebrews 10:36 ESV

E for endurance.  When I read this verse, it made me want to be a finisher.  I don’t want to stop short of receiving God’s promise.  Sometimes part of enduring is letting God work something out of us.  For me, it has been pride.  I think I’m cruising along ok and then all of a sudden things come to a halt.  Everything I touch stops working.  I get frustrated.  I try harder.  Rinse, lather, repeat. Same song, second verse.

It’s when I look for God that things shift.  I let go of my ideas and wants and all the “shoulds.” As soon as I let go, I see the light at the end of the tunnel.  There is a glimmer that gets brighter with every step.  I just keep putting one foot in front of the other and walk toward the light.  All of a sudden the energy shifts, obstacles move out of the way and a big breeze of refreshment comes my way.  That is what makes endurance worth it!

Father, thank you for Your promise.  Help me to learn that to endure does not mean striving in my own power. Help me endure Your process of making me into what You need me to be.

Colossians 1:10-14, James 1:3-4, 1 Thessalonians 1

Leave a Reply

