What You Owe

“Give to everyone what you owe them: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.” Romans 13:7 NIV

When I read this verse today, I realized it’s not just talking about taxes and debt.  In addition to debts, bills, taxes, etc. it’s also talking about profit, respect and honor.  So I started to reflect.  I had to pause and think if I had ever been in a business dealing with someone and not shared the profit or credit with another that I should have?  I also had to pause and think about if I have ever withheld respect or honor from another person that I shouldn’t have?

Over the course of my lifetime, I have had many people offer a helping hand.  I am embarrassed to say that I have not recognized or fully appreciated every single one of them.  Some of them are gone now and I can’t say a proper thank you or show them my appreciation.  Some of them still have family members that I can share the respect and honor that I have for their late mother, father, sister or brother.  I say this because I believe it’s never too late.

My mom has been gone 23 years now.  It’s so hard for me to believe.  Some of the most precious things I receive now are stories about her that I haven’t heard before.  A dear friend’s little brother shared the most touching story with me about my mom.  It was like a precious jewel to read as he shared how she had befriended him as a child in Sunday school.

Father, help me share all the profit, credit, respect and honor that are due those who have helped me along the way.  Show me the ways that I can share with their loved ones if they are gone.  More than anything Father, please help me share with Your heart and Your spirit in all things, withholding nothing.

Luke 12:29-31, Mathew 7:1-2

Leave a Reply

