Stretching

19-20” There is a sure way for us to know that we belong to the truth. Even though our inner thoughts may condemn us with storms of guilt and constant reminders of our failures, we can know in our hearts that in His presence God Himself is greater than any accusation. He knows all things.21 My loved ones, if our hearts cannot condemn us, then we can stand with confidence before God. 22 Whatever we may ask, we receive it from Him because we follow His commands and take the path that pleases Him.1 John 3:19-22 The Voice

I have to have confidence that God has me.  I have to trust that He wants to spend time with me and that He loves me.  I have to believe that I am more precious to Him than rubies or silver or gold – or even the most precious or perfect diamonds. I say that because I am His child.  His children are the gems of His crown. He will not let us fall.  He will take our hand. He will lift us up.  He will deliver us.

Let me also say that this walk is not for the faint of heart! I have come to realize just how much I need Him. He is teaching me a different way of life that depends on Him instead of me. His ways are much more efficient and elegant. He is stretching me. Stretching my faith.  It gets uncomfortable! But stretching usually is. I want to stretch like Peter.  I want to step out of the boat and experience walking on water!

Father, I repent for continuing to stick my fingers in the middle of things. Give me strength to be obedient to Your voice. Give me ears to hear You clearly and be sensitive to Your Spirit. Keep my eyes focused on You. Only You. Help me resist reasoning with the circumstances. Help me to cling to what is unseen, trusting You. You are my Jehovah Rapha. Thank you for stretching my faith. Thank you for expanding my vision. Thank you for teaching me a different way. I pray that nothing comes out of my mouth except words that glorify You along the way. Thank you for sending my Comforter, Guide and Companion – Holy Spirit – who makes Your ways known to me. Thank you for all You do for me.

1 John 3:18, Philippians 4:6, Psalm 115:3, 14-15; 1 John 3:23-24

2 thoughts on “Stretching

Leave a Reply

