Cheerful Obedience

Embed from Getty Images“Each one must do just as he has purposed in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” 2 Corinthians 9:7 NASB

Obedience: the act or practice of obeying; dutiful or submissive compliance.

If we truly understand the depth and breadth of God’s love and truly understand that He wants only the best for us, why wouldn’t we be obedient? If His ways and thoughts are better than my ways and thoughts, why is this so hard? Why don’t I leap out of bed every morning anxious to hear what God asks me to do each day? And do it? The outcome is guaranteed! Some days I feel like a very slow learner.

We watch our children do it to us. And God watches us do it to Him. And He loves us anyway. And He is patient and longsuffering with us just like He asks us to do for each other. I’m so thankful!

Father, thank you for the people You have placed in my life. Lord, I pray You will open my heart, ears and eyes to wise counsel. I pray I will receive Your Words and nudges from the Holy Spirit without my reasoning getting in the way. I repent for my delays in obedience. Thank you for Your love and Your grace and Your patience with my messiness. Help me stay rooted and grounded in You and nothing else.

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

Leave a Reply

