Staying in My Lane

Embed from Getty Images4 For in the same way that one body has so many different parts, each with different functions; 5 we, too—the many—are different parts that form one body in the Anointed One. Each one of us is joined with one another, and we become together what we could not be alone.” Romans 12:4-5 The Voice

Over-responsibility. Comparison. Trying to be like someone else. Self-criticism. Trying to be all things. No boundaries. Grabbing on too tightly.

These words and statements remind me of what it looks like not being content with myself. Meaning, I am not recognizing, appreciating and confidently operating in my strengths. It’s what it looks like if I am constantly looking in the rearview mirror or looking at the greener grass in someone else’s yard.

No one else is like me. No one else is like you. Our contributions are different. They are all beautiful and uniquely expressed in each one of us. If I am always trying to be something I’m not, then I can never be who I was meant to be. The visual is that I’m driving all over the road and never getting anywhere! That kind of chaos is not what God intended. We are made according to His incredible design. Each with our unique purpose and journey.

When I think of how sophisticated our interstate system is across the US and how wonderfully it provides access, safety, portability, convenience, glimpses of beauty and opportunities for community, I also realize the need for order. Order that is established by speed limits, signals, signage and driving rules. And maintenance. We can’t forget vehicle maintenance! We don’t want to break down along the way!

Father, show me how to rest in You. Show me how to walk and care for others like You. Help me stay in my lane, appreciating how You made me and the path you have designed for me. I lift everything and everyone up to You. Please give me discernment and unwavering faith to look beyond what I can see. Give me eyes to see the unseen and a heart for all things that are of You.

Psalm 31:7, 69:32; Romans 8:28, Hebrews 11:1,Psalm 139:14

Leave a Reply

