Imperishable Seed

“For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.” 1 Peter 1:23 NIV

Imperishable: not subject to decay; indestructible; enduring.

So as Christians, we are born of the imperishable Word of God.  In the beginning was the Word. “And God said” gave birth to the universe!  Jesus Christ was the Word of God in the flesh. So we are not subject to decay. We are indestructible. We are enduring.  How often do we really walk in that? That sounds like pretty powerful stuff to me!

I love how in Jesus Christ we are made whole again. We are not subject to the decay of this world.  In our spirit, we are made perfect in Him.  If I could embrace Him fully–with all my heart and all my soul and all my mind–I believe all that power would be manifested physically too. So that is my hope! It is my hope that my heart, soul and mind will so completely belong to Jesus that His power can flow through me and trust that it will only be used to accomplish what God desires.  That His power can be manifested to bring heaven, His imperishable Kingdom, here on earth. Evil will be put to rest. Wars will cease.  His peace and love will reign.

Father, thank you for giving me a rebirth of the imperishable kind.  Thank you for Your everlasting love and redemption. Thank you for giving me Your Word in Jesus. I pray that I share Your Words with others so they too can be born of an imperishable seed.

Genesis 1: 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 20, 22, 24, 26, 29; John 3:5, 1 Peter 1:3, 1 Corinthians 15:53-54, 1 John 3:9, 1 John 5:18

Leave a Reply

