Unmet Expectations

3” I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now,being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:3-6 NIV

You can hear the expectations of Paul oozing out of this scripture.  They are full of hope and joy!

Expectations can be a trap if not fully committed to God’s purpose in our life.  So how do we deal with unmet expectations? Always go back to the source. If we react to circumstances with bitterness and resentment because of unmet expectations, we are saying we know better than God.* There is nothing that we can hide from God in our heart. Do you have unmet expectations? How do you respond?

When you look at the source of expectation – God’s purpose or your own:

  • If God – important to go back to God
  • If yours – pause, reflect, seek God
  • If others – seek God for direction and guidance

Father God, I am so thankful that you have me in the palm of Your hand in every instance of my life.  Even when I am not in Your will, you are still watching me with concern and care.  Thank you for always being there for me.

Proverbs 14:10, Acts 8:23, Proverbs 4:23, Luke 16:15, Galatians 5:22, 1 Peter 5:7

*Prime Time with God: Expectations 07/21/14

Leave a Reply

