Bowed Down

The Lord upholds all those [of His own] who are falling and raises up all those who are bowed down. Psalm 145:14 AMP

Bowed down.  The image is one of surrender, humility and vulnerability. Complete dependence and trust. It could also mean bowed down in reverence and worship.  It is a posture that recognizes the deity of God. In either case, it recognizes God as The Almighty versus arrogantly contending as a peer with God.

It is the opposite of the Pharisees and Sadducees that Jesus battled with and warned the early Christians of many times. Jesus compared them to the leaven in bread, warning that a small amount will contaminate an entire batch of dough. They were referenced as being filled with jealousy, indignation and rage.

Father, I pray that others see You when they see me. I pray that others are drawn to You. Be with me. Be in me. I pray that my flesh does not get in the way of a single thing that You want to do. I pray that Your will and purposes be accomplished.

Galatians 2:20, 1 John 2:10, Psalm 145:13-14

Leave a Reply

