God’s Prescription

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6 NIV

Anxiety and depression can cause people to do awful things to themselves and others. When we take this prescription for what ails us — prayer, petition and thanksgiving – we can know that God hears us.  Even when we make a mistake, bringing it to God brings repentance and salvation.  Worldly sorrow brings death.  Take Judas. He was consumed in a number of worldly things. Power and greed ended up consuming him.  It ended in death.

So what are we consumed by? Sometimes we are consumed by things, people, and tasks. They begin to rob our lives of Godly things. Their fruit can often bring anxiety, worry, pride, comparison, judgment and depression.

Those are the times we need to come to God with His prescription – prayer, petition, thanksgiving – and listen.  He will deal with those worldly things so we can place them before Him and ask for forgiveness.  We can find freedom again.  Over and over again.  God’s Word is useful to us for teaching, correcting, and training us in God’s ways so that we can be well equipped to deal with this world and not be consumed by it.

Father I repent for allowing things, people and tasks to consume me at times. Help me to find balance in You. Show me when I need to unplug from what I am doing and reboot to reconnect with You. Show me when I need to connect differently with others. Help me ask for what I need when I need it.

2 Corinthians 7:10, Matthew 26:41, 27:5; Proverbs 3:3-5, 2 Timothy 3:16-17

Leave a Reply

