Receiving God’s Grace

Embed from Getty Images“As God’s co-workers we urge you not to receive God’s grace in vain.” 2 Corinthians 6:1 NIV

I love Paul’s letters to the churches.  He was so awesome at loving them, instructing them, disciplining them. And this phrase is so very beautiful to me.  It is one I have to savor for a while: “not to receive God’s grace in vain.”

This gave me pause. Christ is God’s grace for me.  If I receive Christ and do not accept that gift in vain, what does that mean?  It means that I recognize that Christ died for me.  It means God’s gift to me has had an impact on my life. It means I accept that Christ’s purpose for dying was to save me.  It means I treat that gift with proper reverence.

So when I am tempted to worry and be anxious about things, whether they are big or small, I have to remember this loving Gift that was given for me.  I have to remember how deep and magnificent that kind of love must be.  I have to remember that I have nothing to fear.  I have to remember that my Father gave up His only Son for me.  So why should I worry?  Why should I be concerned?  Of whom shall I be afraid?

Father, thank you for Your grace and mercy and incredible, unconditional, immeasurable, omniscient love.  Help me to always remember all that You have done for me, continually taking an account of every blessing!

2 Corinthians 5:20, Ephesians 5:8-20, Romans 8:38, Philippians 4:6, Psalm 27:1

Leave a Reply

