Waiting on God’s Will

Embed from Getty ImagesYou see, it is God’s will that by doing what is right and good you should hush the gabbing ignorance of the foolish.” 1 Peter 2:15 The Voice

As I was reading about Peter, I felt a catch in my heart.  I can be quick to rush ahead and overcommit. Sometimes I rush ahead when God only asked me to take a step. On occasion I have tried to strong arm things into position. I have not checked in with others or sought agreement in prayer.  You can guess the outcome!  They have been some hard lessons to learn.  I am learning that “doing” less and praying more works a lot better.

Doing what is right and good is simply a part of being obedient and loving God. It’s not about performance or rushing out to “do” more.  It is a lifestyle.  When in doubt about what God’s will is, I am learning to wait.  When God has opened doors for me, it has not been a crack that I have had to wiggle through.  The doors have been thrown open wide!  There was no question or doubt. When it’s His timing I will be propelled into motion.

Father God, help me submit to and honor Your timing and Your ways in all things. I know clinging to my will and understanding introduces confusion and chaos.  I do not want either. Help me to be firmly planted in You in humility and without reserve. Let 100% of my heart belong to You.

1 Peter 2:1-3, 15-17, 20-22, 25-27, Matthew 5:33

Leave a Reply

