Dismayed

“The Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:8 NASB

The word dismayed caught my eye.  I did a word search and “dismayed” is used 25 times in the Bible (depending on the version).  So of course I had to look it up!

Dismayed: Verb 1. To break down the courage of completely, as by sudden danger or trouble; dishearten thoroughly; daunt. 2. To surprise in such a manner as to disillusion. 3. To alarm; perturb. Noun. 4. Sudden or complete loss of courage; utter disheartenment. 5. Sudden disillusionment. 6. Agitation of mind; perturbation; alarm.

Wow. That was a mouthful.  Have you ever felt that way?  I have. I have had those moments when I lost it.  I just couldn’t hang on any more.  As I was reading this, even the definition of the word left me feeling kind of heavy.

It has generally been when I was trying to do it all myself.  I wasn’t truly trusting God. When I am trying to manage people, situations, crisis, or trouble, that is when I am vulnerable. Everything seems big.  Bigger than I can handle. I get overwhelmed.  That’s because it is!

That’s when I have to step back and look at the giant like David did.  I need to step back so instead of seeing how big the giant is, I can see how big God is.  That makes the giant seem small in comparison.

There are times when I have had to trust God with things that were very painful and even scary.  At times I had to be gentle with myself.  God was there and provided the encouragement.  I stepped back and rested in Him.  Other times I had to swallow my pride and ask for help.  God was there to encourage me, provide guidance and give me hope.

But when I go to God, the discouragement lifts and the dismay dissolves.  He fills me back up again.

Father, help me trust You long before I become dismayed.  Help me to be strong and courageous, bringing everything to You instead of trying to handle it myself.

Psalm 23

Leave a Reply

