His Power Within Us

Embed from Getty Images “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,” Ephesians 3:20 NIV

According to His power that is in us.  So, God is able to do immeasurably (incapable of being measured; limitless) more than we can imagine (to form a mental image of something that is not actually present to the senses).  For me, this requires letting go of the familiar and entering into another realm of reality.  What seems real in this instance is limiting.  It limits the power of God inside of us.  So…if I can just let go of my own perception of what things “should” be and accept on faith how powerful God truly is…That’s a lot to think about.  But I can’t think about it too long or else I try to put it back into the box of believability!  That is not where God shows off.

God shows off in the realm of the UNBELIEVABLE. Walking on water. Turning water into wine.  Giving sight to the blind. Raising the dead to life. Giving His most precious Son for the love of the undeserving.  UNBELIEVABLE.  That is the truth that unlocks the power of God.  That is the truth that doesn’t fit into our senses.  It’s not logical.  It’s not predictable.  It may even seem foolish by our standards.  But its real.

I love how beautifully C.S. Lewis takes us into an imaginary world full of wonder in The Narnia Chronicles.  Think of how far that stretches your imagination and know it is not enough.  God’s realm of power goes beyond that.  It is beyond our imagination – no matter how vivid it is!  I’m thankful for authors like C.S. Lewis that stretch my imagination.  I’m thankful that no matter what I see or hear, God is more.  God is bigger.  God is greater.  God is mightier.

Father, thank you for telling me about Your mighty power.  Will You blow my mind?  Will You show me how great You are?  Father, prepare me to let go of the little box I try to put you in.  Show me the things of You that are beyond my imagination! I want You to make room inside of me for more of Your power to do Your work.

Ephesians 3:14-21, John 10:28-30, Romans 8:38-39, Revelation 1:8, 11:17

Leave a Reply

