Dance Like David

Embed from Getty Images21 “David said to Michal, “It was before the Lord, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the Lord’s people Israel—I will celebrate before the Lord. 22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.”  2 Samuel 6:21-22a NIV

A favorite book of mine is “In a Pit With a Lion On a Snowy Day” by Mark Batterson.  It is a book that inspires, motivates and encourages a God-sized perspective.  In reference to King David dancing with all his might before the Lord, it is a picture of pure worship. David literally danced his robes off.  Worship is a form of disrobing. It is the shedding of those things that are outside of our relationship with Christ. It is a reminder that our royal robes are like filthy rags.  It’s not about what we can do for God.  It is about what He has already done for us. That understanding produces the greatest freedom in the world: having nothing to prove.

In those moments when I feel foolish and insecure, I go to God. I realize that any other place doesn’t make sense to me anymore. When I am struggling with feelings of inadequacy and insecurity, less than or falling behind – it can feel pretty lousy. But those things are simply not true. That is not who I am in Christ.  That is when I have to dig in.  I have to choose not listen to the dialog that is designed to derail me. I have to choose to tuck into a loving place with my heavenly Father.  Stealing away for those moments with Him in pure worship is beautiful.  It is a place where I can be free.  Be foolish.  Be in that humble, undignified place of total vulnerability.  He revels in our unencumbered celebration of all He has done for us!

Father, I want to dance like David danced, worshipping you mightily!

2 Samuel 6:1-22

Leave a Reply

