Be Still

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14 NIV

Have you ever had a scripture hit you right between the eyes? At the time that I read this, it had that effect. It was divine timing.  It’s so easy when trouble starts to start talking about it. Blab about it. Why do I fight with stillness? God’s way is so different. Faith. Comfort from the Holy Spirit. Reliance on Him. In the stillness we have to let go of the busyness and performance orientation, the “do.” That harried feeling of “Oh, I have to do this,” and “I have to go here” to fix things or people, to take the bull by the horns and turn things around. Taking a bull by the horns is a good way to get gored!

Unless we are operating in God’s strength. That is the differentiator. Am I moving in God’s strength or my own? Move when He moves. Look for His favor. His alignment. Then move.

I’m also learning that when I’m quiet, I am being respectful of God. When we try to take control of a situation, we demonstrate that we are led by fear rather than love. Sometimes when we see others struggling or find them annoying, when we quietly lift them up in prayer we make a conscious decision to not throw our own chaos, opinions and confusion in the mix. We trust God to do the work. We don’t need to do the heavy lifting. We sit in prayer and strategically wait for God’s timing.

Father I surrender to You. I stand in the stillness seeking You. I pray for freedom from any need to control so that I can trust You and others more.

Isaiah 30:15, 2 Chronicles 20:15, 1 Samuel 17:47, Psalm 24:8, Philippians 4:6-7

Leave a Reply

