Control

Embed from Getty Images“Riches and honor come from you alone, and you are the ruler of all mankind; your hand controls power and might, and it is at your discretion that men are made great and given strength.” 1 Chronicles 29:12 Living Bible

Control.  His hand controls power and might.  I have noticed that when I try to control things I struggle more with negativity.  I am taking on the fight instead of prayerfully leaving it with God. Negative thoughts creep in.  I may even see a pity party forming with me, myself, and I!  “God, have you forgotten me?”  Of course He hasn’t.  His Word tells us over and over again how much He loves us.  And then look at the sacrifice He made.  When I really focus there, in a place of gratitude and acknowledgement of all God has said and done, I can see how ridiculous those thoughts are.  But it may take me a minute to get there!

If I have to be in control, I give up the Lord’s wisdom in exchange for my own very limited understanding. I focus on the overwhelming landscape of the future instead of staying in the moment. I miss every blessing of today. If I try to maintain control, I miss my turn to reach a better destination or even a shorter route. I miss my rest stops and refueling stations.  I miss the view of the journey.  My head and my heart are bound to toiling to anticipate every potential outcome and reasoning my way through it. Plan A, Plan B…to infinity.

But if I release the need to be in control, I can stay in the moment.  I can remain thankful.  I can count my blessings. I can rediscover joy and peace and hope in the moment. I can appreciate others that God has placed in my path.  It’s not just about me. If I release control, I can acknowledge that my understanding is limited, as well as my line of sight. I can accept that I don’t know it all and truthfully, won’t ever know it all. I can accept that it’s not all up to me.  If I let go, my hands are open to receive instead of being clenched tightly onto something that isn’t the answer.  It’s just a security blanket because I was not trusting God. If I let go, I release whatever is weighing me down and distracting me from God’s greater purpose.  That yoke He did not intend for me to ever bear.  I can give it back to God.

Father, remind me to let go when I am holding too tightly to those things I need to release to You. Thank you for Your better way and lighter yoke when I dwell in You!

Jeremiah 6:16, 1 Kings 8:36, John 15:5

One thought on “Control

Leave a Reply

