Deep Waters

“He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.” Psalm 18:16 NIV

Have you ever had a near drowning incident? I had one in Cancun, Mexico.  I had gone snorkeling and gotten separated from everyone else by a current.  I was washed up on a shallow bed of coral.  My rear end was getting shredded more each time a wave knocked me further up onto the coral bed.  I finally managed to make my way into deeper water, but my body was starting to ache from the multitude of coral cuts.  Swimming back to the group was against the current that had swept me away.  I began to have thoughts of exhaustion.  I didn’t know how long I could continue. I was contemplating giving up.  Suddenly the guide appeared, grabbed hold of me, and dragged me back to the boat.

When I think of this experience on a spiritual level, there is so much to see! I was swept away and distracted by the view of the fish and underwater landscape.  I got separated from my group. The coral that looked so pretty became very dangerous. On my own, my strength gave out.  I needed rescued.

God is like that for us.  He never tires of reaching down to draw us out of deep waters.  He hears our cries and yearns for us to stay with Him.  Even when we are distracted by “pretty” things, He continues to wait patiently for us to return, offering that helping hand when we tire of the struggle.

I think of that day occasionally. It could have turned out very differently. I know that God was there, both literally and spiritually, to tend to my needs.  Just waiting for me to return to Him.

Father, thank you for Your long-suffering patience and love.  Thank you for reaching down into the deep waters for me!

Psalm 18:16-19, 25-29; 1 Timothy 6:6, Colossians 1:11

One thought on “Deep Waters

Leave a Reply

