Before Creation

Embed from Getty Images4 “For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love  he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.” Ephesians 1:4-6 NIV

Being a little on the egocentric side, I haven’t always given much thought to what happened before the world was created.  Some days I can’t even get past the present moment!

In fact, God models how thoughtful and intentional He is in everything He does when we read scripture.  Before the heavens and earth were created, before Adam and Eve, before time – God had already chosen each of us to be His. It was all a part of His incredible and supernatural design. He had already hand-picked each one of us. He already knew each and every way we would fall short. He already knew how to build a bridge for us. He already knew the sacrifice.  He also had already decided each and every one of us was worth it.

We are the focus of His love and attention! Since before time and for eternity.  There is truly no greater love. While I can’t say I comprehend it, I try to honor that He chose me. I try to honor my relationship with Him by spending time with Him, time in His Word, setting my heart on abiding and living in Him, and according to His ways.  I fall short in so many ways that I can’t even tell you.  I know that and He knows that.  I just keep inviting Him into my heart day after day, moment after moment, situation after situation.  If I keep inviting Him into my life without reservation, I know He has the power to create change and transformation that nothing else can.

I invite Him in as my beloved friend to share my life with. A friend that I may not always understand, but one I trust with my life. A friend whose companionship and love cannot be surpassed.

Father, thank you for choosing me.  I choose You too!

Philippians 4:6, Colossians 4:2, Habakkuk 3:4, Psalm 24:3-8, Ephesians 1:4-6

One thought on “Before Creation

Leave a Reply

