Relationship and Favor

Embed from Getty Images“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.” Deuteronomy 6:5 NIV

I was listening to Michelle McKinney Hammond and something she said really struck me: “Relationship is married to favor.” It made me stop and think.  I had to reflect on my own relationships and how they are tied to favor. Take my daughter for example, bone of my bone and flesh of my flesh.  Hands down – I would lay down my life for her.  My sisters and brother. Their families. Their spouses families. My best friends and even their spouses.  Yep. I can say I would lay down my life.

Ok. Let’s extend the circle.  Someone I don’t know that an injustice has been done to.  Someone I know, but to be honest, they are down-right mean to me. I have not had a pleasant history with them. Someone I don’t know and they are randomly at risk.  What would I do? It becomes abundantly clear how relationship is tied to favor!

There will come a time when Christ will have to draw a line too.  There will come a time when he looks at everyone that has elected not to have a relationship with Him.  Either passively or actively they have rejected Christ.

If we were to rewind our life and look at the things we’ve come through, each of them is a testimony to be shared. They are a witness to what God had done for us.  Each one shares a perspective of the character of God; how He demonstrated His love for us.  For example:

  • When in need: Jehovah Jireh (God is my Provision)
  • When sick: Jehovah Rapha (God is Healer)
  • When we are lost and don’t know what to do: Jehovah Rohi (God is my Shepherd)

Each one of us experience the character of God in our own way throughout our lives.These stories are designed to be shared with others so they too can know our Father’s love and be drawn to it as we were.

Father, thank you for restoring my hope in times of darkness. My hope rests in You. Jehovah Shammah! You are ever-present with me. I stand in the gap for every lost soul, Father. I pray they hear of Your salvation and accept Your gift of life.

Proverbs 19:23, Revelation 20:15

Leave a Reply

