A Dry Spell

“O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” Psalm 63:1 NASB

“Grace mops up the dustiness of a dry soul!” This statement is borrowed from a Wisdom Hunters devotional titled “Dry Seasons.” I loved it so much that I had to save it!  For some reason, this makes me think of the old TV western, “Rawhide.” I can picture the dusty terrain and a young Clint Eastwood. I get parched just thinking about it! It gives a whole new meaning to the phrase “eat dirt.” On the set of that western I imagine you were eating it, breathing it and sitting in it.  At least on the TV screen it looked authentic! But you get what I mean.

There are times in life when our spiritual life seems dry.  We begin to wonder if God is still there and if He truly hears our cries. It feels like a dry spell.  It is in those dry moments that we make choices. Do we really believe?  Is God really who He says He is?  Does He really know more than we do? Is He really all-powerful, all-knowing and always present?

It is that truth that I hang on to for dear life in my dry spells.  If anything causes me to question, I turn as quick to God as I can and ask for strength. Strength to overcome any doubt that is trying to weasel its way into my heart or mind.  I try to lockdown my faith and focus on every promise God has given me.  Then I hang on for the ride.  Sometimes the ride is bumpier and longer than others.  The key is knowing God is ALWAYS there.  No matter when the ride starts and when the ride ends, He’s there. He knew the ride was coming before you did.  And He already knew how it was going to end.  He also knew every twist and turn the journey was going to have and every person you would touch along the way.

Even God’s dry spells have purpose. And remember, He’s efficient.  So look around.  As you are going through a dry spell or some spiritual remodeling, there is a good chance you are not in it alone! Others are being touched as well.

Trust in the Lord always.

Father, thank you for showing me Your hand in my life. I see You move and You give me hope. It is tangible reassurance of Your care and concern for me.

Psalm 27:14, John 17:21, Isaiah 44:3, Psalm 9:10

Leave a Reply

