The Spirit Of Truth

Embed from Getty Images“But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.” John 16:13 NIV

The Spirit of truth teaches and guides.  It guides us to the voice of God because that is all it hears. Not only the truth of today but also the truth of the future. In the Spirit we find wisdom, teaching, correction, praise and thanksgiving.

We do not have to look far.  It dwells within us. We just have to listen and wait for the voice of God that resides within us.  We have to “tune in” and develop the filter of our own voice from His.

That filter is developed through God’s Word.  All the character of God is taught there.  We can learn about the values and principles that help us recognize His voice.  We can learn about His great love for us and how to demonstrate our love. We learn how to develop a relationship that is intimate enough to recognize the truth of the Spirit readily and respectfully. We learn to value that truth above all else. We learn to wait on the Lord.  His truth. His timing.

I have had moments when I got in a hurry.  I didn’t listen. I didn’t wait.  It was not efficient.

Then I’ve had moments when I wasn’t sure whose voice I was hearing.  It was only through God’s Word that discernment came. I found clarity and wisdom to understand the character of God more fully there.

I began to recognize the Comforter and the Counselor’s voice in my life. It reinforced that I am never alone, just as Jesus Christ promised.  It is the Spirit of truth that He promised would follow Him and that is the Spirit that dwells in me.

Father, thank you for sending Your Spirit of truth to bring Your guidance, teachings, counsel, urging, joy, peace, strength, and courage to us, directly and without reservation. Remind me to always ask for Your counsel that is so readily available.

Psalm 25, Colossians 3:16, Luke 12:12

Leave a Reply

