Sweet Words

Embed from Getty Images“Pleasant words are as a honeycomb, sweet to the mind and healing to the body.” Proverbs 16:24 AMP

I have a sweet tooth.  Chocolate. Nutella.  Honey. Desserts.  I just love that little sweet ending!  It doesn’t have to be a huge portion.  Sometimes just a little taste will do.  I savor it.  It triggers all kinds of yummy warm feelings inside of me.  It often even produces a smile!!!

Our words can have the same impact. They can trigger warmth and acceptance. Forgiveness. Love. Encouragement.  How many medications could we pitch with the addition of sweet words to our life? I believe firmly in the power of pleasant and sweet words.  I believe they heal in a transformational, life changing way.

This past year I secured my certification as a Strengths Strategy Coach.  The philosophy of strengths reminds me so much of the beauty in how we are all created and uniquely gifted.  It has been my honor to encourage others to embrace their strengths and love who God made them to be. Accepting themselves first.  Then really stepping into a place where they can accept others.  Acknowledgement of our contributions to each other, how we show up for each other—encourages the exchange of sweet and pleasant words. It releases power within each of us.

One year I made it a point to write letters of encouragement to folks at work when I heard of a struggle.  Instead of talking to someone else about that person, I wrote words of encouragement.  Sometimes it was because of a lost parent.  Sometimes I just noticed they seemed to be a little down.  I very seldom knew the outcome.  Occasionally I would receive a heartfelt hug or a wink across the room in a big meeting.  I believe they were healing words that made a difference in someone’s life.

On occasion I can focus on “fixing” things. It can come across as critical rather than encouraging.  Sometimes when I am pondering something, my face can look cranky rather than warm and inviting. Thankfully my daughter will generally let me know when that happens.  I truly appreciate the feedback and it helps me learn to recalibrate a hyper-focus and check the orientation of my heart.  When I become hyper-focused on something, it can come from the wrong place in my heart.  Maybe I’m taking too much ownership of something that doesn’t belong to me.  Maybe I have even stepped into meddling in someone else’s business.  Either way it is usually an indication that I need to let go of something.

Growing up in the South, I often heard the phrase “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”  I have found that old adage is just as important behind closed doors as it is to someone’s face.  If I don’t have anything nice to say, then it’s probably time for me to take my own heart in for a check-up!

Father, fill my heart with Your sweet words.  Let them pour out of my spirit like a sweet taste of You to everyone that I meet!

Proverbs 22:6, John 14:27, Job 22:21, Philippians 4:7, Genesis 15:1

 

Leave a Reply

