A Live Dog

Anyone who is among the living has hope—even a live dog is better off than a dead lion!” Ecclesiastes 9:4

I love the Bible.  The history and examples are so rich and engaging.  The insight and revelation that comes in reading it blows my mind sometimes.  It’s like the pages come alive and touch my heart and mind. Truly a renewing of the mind that I need on a daily basis.

The examples of those that have gone before give me hope.  They teach me. They offer inspiration and encouragement. Sometimes they make me laugh out loud.  Like this scripture.  If anyone is having a pity party, check out this verse! Are you living and breathing? Then don’t waste any of it! Be glad and hopeful! It brings to mind the movie Monty Python and the Holy Grail…”I’m not dead!” And I’m thankful!

No matter how bad things may seem, I have life.  I don’t even mean this life. While I am very thankful for each day that I live and breathe in this world, I am even more thankful for the eternal life that Christ offers. If even a glimpse of the love and care are demonstrated in His sacrifice, then what is yet to come is so incredibly beautiful that I have to simply accept it in awe. I can’t wrap my head around it. I can only tingle in anticipation. Any temptation to fret or worry or be anxious will be gone.  Any inkling of self-sufficiency will be gone.  I will simply be at an eternal concert rocking the house in praise and worship.  That will be my full-time job!  So I better start practicing now.

Father, thank you for Your life everlasting! I am no longer dead. I am alive in You!

Romans 12:12, 8:32

Leave a Reply

