A Safehouse for My Heart

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7 NIV

Peace.  Peaceful.  That creates such a blissful picture in my mind.  Then it occurs to me that such tranquility guards our heart.  I had never put the two together before.  It creates a safehouse around our heart and mind.  In going through an ugly divorce 18 years ago, my goal was to guard my home and protect it.  I wanted a peaceful home environment for my 3 year old and for myself.  I longed and yearned for peace.  That peace eventually came and it did protect my heart.  Regardless of what has swirled around me over the years, my peaceful home has been a respite.  A place of rest, renewal and restoration.  God honored my heart’s desire for peace.  Peace is the antidote to anxiety.

Thank you Lord for honoring my desire for peace and protecting my heart!

Ephesians 3:20, Matthew 6:31-32

Leave a Reply

