Think Good Thoughts

Embed from Getty Images“Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.” Proverbs 29:25 NIV

I am so very thankful for the riches and plans that God has for me.  I am thankful for the immense and powerful Love that He has for me.  Somewhere along the line, I realized that I had tapes playing in my head that did not reflect the love that God has for me.  It was from inside of me; an internal dialog.  It was definitely not God.  This internal dialog started to create issues with me loving myself.  When I don’t love myself, God can’t operate in me to His fullness.  It was quite an ugly snare that developed.  All kinds of things were snarled in the mix: performance, pride, rejection, comparison, arrogance, criticism.  I could go on and on.  I do not even remember where the negative words came from.  I don’t know when it started.  What I do know is that it started to snowball into a fearful approach to work and relationships because they were so loaded up with negative junk.

I had to ask God to remove the obstacles in my heart that were keeping me from fully walking in His plan for me.  I really had to sit prayerfully and meditate on some very loving and instructional scripture and let it sit in my heart for a long time. I still need to step away from things regularly for a heart check and just spend time with God.  It’s not anything that is formulaic or legalistic.  The truth is if I don’t, I miss it.  I miss the quiet time with God.  It helps me appreciate the way He made me a little more.  It helps me dig into the well that He has placed inside of me and pull from it for inspiration, creativity, focus, clarity and strategy. 

Lord, thank you for teaching me every day to love and appreciate You more and how You made me as a unique expression of You.

1 Samuel 15:24, 1 Peter 1:21, Matthew 10:26-28, Genesis 1:26-27, Colossians 1:21-22, I Corinthians 13

3 thoughts on “Think Good Thoughts

Leave a Reply

