Walk This Way

Embed from Getty Images“15 Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise (sensible, intelligent people)…17 Therefore do not be vague and thoughtless and foolish, but understanding and firmly grasping what the will of the Lord is.” Ephesians 5:15, 17 AMP

The only way I can stay in a thoughtful, purposeful and wise pursuit of the will of the Lord is to stay in His word and in prayer.  Those two components are critical to keep me on track.  His word provides instruction and insight.  Prayer allows me to empty my heart to Him and allow the Holy Spirit to pour the heart of God into me.  Only then can I begin to walk the way this scripture describes.  I have to practice this every day.  It’s a commitment.  It has been a commitment that has and continues to transform my life.  It’s no different than working muscles to make sure they are fit and strong.  I have to exercise my Spirit woman to make sure she is fit for the daily sparring matches the world brings my way on a spiritual level.  I’m thankful for the daily workout and refreshment that God gives me in prayer.  I’m thankful that even on days when I know something is off but can’t put my finger on what’s wrong, the Holy Spirit can turn it all around.  All I have to do is surrender my heart.

Father, thank you for the gift of the Holy Spirit to guide me every day.

John 7:38, Ephesians 5:19-20, Psalm 27:13-14

Leave a Reply

