Rejoice Always

Embed from Getty Images“4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:4-7 NIV

One summer I had an extraordinary gift and experience.  Many years ago I had worked with a man that was an exceptional mentor to me in the workplace. I was very green in working within a large corporation and he showed me the ropes, especially in a politically charged and highly competitive setting.  He was gracious and kind.  He was a light in the darkness for me.

I lost touch with him for several decades and then we reconnected at a reunion.  He was five years into an incredible fight with leukemia.  In the few weeks I had left with him, he continued to teach me. He lived this passage in Philippians 4 each and every day: through pain and through a failing body — in grace and beauty.  He left behind an incredible legacy of unselfish love and great wisdom with many family and friends.  He lived and died being a light for me and for many, many others; including future generations.

I had the incredible opportunity to tape our sessions together.  As I listened to them and edited them for his family, I experienced a wide range of emotions – from tears to belly laughs! He was so very special.  He was a gift to me.  I will forever be thankful that God placed him in my path.  I am so thankful that I was able to give just a little something back to him in the midst of all the kindness that he had shown me.

Lord, thank you for showing me the power of gratitude and serving others.

~~In loving memory of Tom Bosbous~~

Philippians 4:4-9, John 14:27, John 14:15-17, John 14:12-14

Leave a Reply

