Gentle and Humble

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:29 NIV

Yoke: to join, couple, link or unite; to attach, pair; a part that secures two or more components so they move together; a link, tie or bond; to secure or harness.

When we take on the yoke of Jesus it means we are putting His teachings into practice in our lives. We trust Him with our life. It means we are joined with Him when the storms of life come. We are united. We are secure in Him.  We move with Him as one. This is also how we demonstrate our love for Him.

When I was a teenager, I had lots of opportunity to get into trouble.  The only reason I didn’t get in more trouble was because I knew how much my mom trusted me.  She demonstrated gentleness and humility.  It was just an unspoken part of her. It was her heart. Her trust held me in check more than any punishment could have.  I did not want to break her trust. Believe me, I was far from perfect.  Her trust kept me out of harm’s way many times.

It’s no different with Jesus.  He trusts us to choose.  He leaves the choice in our hands every day.  We can demonstrate our love by choosing His yoke and releasing the ways of this world.  Releasing the desire to criticize others, serve ourselves first, push our own agendas, and rush to our own conclusions. We demonstrate our love by walking in faith and trusting Him with our lives and the lives of others on a daily basis.

Father, help me see how much You trust me every day to act like You would.  Help me carry the trust You have in me deep in my heart. I pray it directs my actions in every way.

Matthew 7:24, John 13:17, 15:10-17

Leave a Reply

