Loves Me Like A Rock

Embed from Getty Images“Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation.” Isaiah 12:2 NIV

For a long time I thought of salvation as my ticket out of hell.  I knew about being a Christian, I grew up in church.  As a child I felt called to the mission field and had a heart specifically for Africa.  Somehow, someway I missed the bigger picture.  I missed tucking away the deep, passionate love of my heavenly Father in my heart.  When storms came into my life, I was not on firm footing.  I got blown away.

Now decades later, through some pretty incredible orchestration by God, I’m here.  I’m learning to trust Him more.  Daily I try to wrap my head around His crazy love for me…and all of mankind.  Today salvation looks very different for me.  Instead of a fear of hell fire and brimstone (which I’m not negating), I really want to come to terms with His love.  The more deeply I can understand His love, it will help me love myself and love others better.  I won’t do things out of obligation.  I will do the things He asks me to do out of love.  A deep, solid, unshakeable love.  He loves me like a rock.  Yes He does!

Lord, thank you for Your never ending, never failing love! You love me like a rock! You are my fierce protector, my shelter in a storm.

Psalm 13:5, 23, 36:7; Matthew 7:24-27; 1 Corinthians 13

Leave a Reply

