Mighty Warrior

Embed from Getty Images“The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in His love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17 NIV

Growing up I read a lot of fairy tales and Greek and Roman mythology as well as the Bible. Generally there was always a hero and a villain.  I always pictured my hero as gallant and strong with a white horse and a sword.  He represented what was right and true.  It was a war against good and evil.

God assures us that He does not have to rush in to save us from some distant land.  He is always present.  He is able to save us completely, nothing remains broken or incomplete.  We are made whole through Him. He is not only our Mighty Warrior, but He delights in us placing our hope in Him. He gets excited when we count on Him instead of relying on ourselves.

Father, help me break that old habit of self-sufficiency. Help me to remember that You are my ever-present Mighty Warrior who is anxious to save me from my present trouble.  Father teach me to stay tucked into You to rest in Your love, peace and joy.

Zephaniah 3:5, 15; Psalm 147:11, 149:4; John 15:11

Leave a Reply

