Many Troubles

“The righteous person may have many troubles, but the Lord delivers him from them all;” Psalm 34:19 NIV

Someone is always watching.  It may be a friend or neighbor or a casual observer.  When we encounter our many troubles, do we reflect the confidence that the Lord will deliver us?  Is there anything different about us that stands out to the casual observer? Or do we look like everyone else?

Those questions can give me brain freeze.  I ask for more boldness and courage daily.  Now I’ve added confidence in the Word of God to my list.  1 John 5:13-15 says something very similar but is even more pointed.  This is my paraphrase:  An encouragement to believers: Be confident that we can have anything that we ask God for that is in His plan.

So that begs the question: What is God’s plan? I do not mean to sound cliché but it is pretty simple for me.  It is God’s plan that we love each other. It is God’s plan that we share His love with everyone we meet. It is God’s plan that we take authority and demolish every obstacle that Satan places in our path that keeps us from accomplishing that goal. That is the simplified version.

Sometimes I get caught up in my own agenda.  That creates anxiety in me that makes me wonder if I’m going to get what I want when I ask God for it.  The anxiety comes when I try to anticipate the packaging!  I begin to imagine the packaging and pile on features and benefits that really stretch the intent of God’s plan.  It’s a slippery slope.

I’m thankful that God is patient and gentle and kind.  He reminds me of His plan to keep me on track.  I’m thankful that I can trust His love for me.  Walking by faith is not for the faint of heart!!  It requires a surrender that is very challenging some days for this rehabilitating self-sufficient, independent, performance driven, single mom! I remain thankful that God is teaching me a different way to live each day.  It is a kinder and gentler path with a lighter burden…just like He promised.

Thank you Lord for Your gentle guidance and Your faithful presence. Help me to trust you more each day and rest in Your arms with confidence.

1 John 5:13-15, Ephesians 3:12, Hebrews 10:35, James 1:5-6

3 thoughts on “Many Troubles

Leave a Reply

