Focus

Join with me in suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No one serving as a soldier gets entangled in civilian affairs, but rather tries to please his commanding officer. Similarly, anyone who competes as an athlete does not receive the victor’s crown except by competing according to the rules. 2 Timothy 2:3-5 NIV

When reading this scripture, I had to ask myself, am I being a good soldier? Am I seeking to please God? As a soldier, am I observing the rules of war? Am I seeking to do God’s will? Am I focused on the right things?

As I sat and pondered those questions, I realized how distracted I had become with the little things around me.  I can lose focus on the things that are really much more important when I get mired in worry, anxiety, internal dialog and turmoil.  And for what?  Again, it is only a distraction. Needless. Pointless.

But when I release it, I experience such peace, such freedom.  That is when I can stay in the moment.  Enjoy what is right in front of me. Rest. Savor. It becomes less of a battle waging inside and more of a flow from the inside out.

Those are the moments filled with gratitude. There is no fear. I stay focused on what has been entrusted to me for that moment or that day. I can see the gifts laid before me and treasure them more readily. Whether it is my daughter or a friend.  An opportunity or a moment of silence.  I can pause and appreciate each one.

Father, thank you for teaching me where to focus.  Thank you for each and every good thing You lay in front of me, especially Your Son Jesus.

Romans 12:15, Genesis 15:1

Leave a Reply

