Rejoice!

Embed from Getty ImagesDo not forget to rejoice, for hope is always just around the corner. Hold up through the hard times that are coming, and devote yourselves to prayer. Romans 12:12-14 The Voice

Rejoice: to be glad; take delight.

So when I reread this as “do not forget to be glad…through the hard times…” it is an excellent reminder.  Sometimes circumstances can challenge me and pull me into a not so glad place.  Giving thanks helps get me back to that glad place.  Prayer helps get me back to that glad place. Believing in the Word of God sustains my hope and makes me glad. It helps me take delight in not only the tangible things around me but also the spiritual. It reminds me to stay tucked into God and trust His promises. Trust in the unseen.  I am in a place like that right now.  I don’t want to go back to old patterns. I want to trust God alone as my source and resource. I have to leave everything in His hands and not pick it back up in order to do that.  Waiting. Trying to wait patiently and gracefully…Being glad and taking delight in the journey. Trusting that He cares for me and has ordered every step. Trusting that His best is worth waiting for and not creating a counterfeit to relieve the current discomfort. I want His best and nothing less!

Father, give me the portion of faith I need in order to rejoice in any circumstances or challenges I face. I pray I keep my eyes on You.

Philippians 4:4, Romans 5:1-5, Luke 15:3-10, Luke 15:11-24

Leave a Reply

