Confess Your Sins

Embed from Getty ImagesTherefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. James 5:16 NIV

I am learning the power of this verse.  There is something about sharing a struggle with a sister or brother in Christ that is incredibly healing.  It opens the floodgates of grace.

Just recently I shared with a friend how angry I am with myself for not listening more intently and obediently to God.  I have anguished over it.  Saying it out loud to another person released the burden and anger I had been carrying around as I was beating myself up over it.  I felt I had dishonored God.  She reminded me that acknowledging it before Him is all He asks of us.  She reminded me of His love for me.  His great care and hand in my life.  She reminded me that He looks at my heart and knows my every desire.

Father, I am thankful for encouraging and healing words.  I am thankful for my brothers and sisters in Christ. I am so very thankful for community.

Romans 15:30, Matthew 7:7, John 9:31, 2 Corinthians 1:11, James 5:17-18

Leave a Reply

