Want

Embed from Getty Images“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.” Psalm 23:1 King James Version

Some synonyms for want are:

Require                  Crave                      Wish                       Need

Lack                       Dearth                    Scarcity                   Inadequacy

Insufficiency           Meagerness            Indigence               Poverty

As I look at these words, they come with an expectation.  Something more than what we have.  Something more than what we are given.  There is a belief that we have not received what we are entitled to.

I get it.  I’ve been in that place. The only way to get out of it is to surrender.  There is no holding back.  Surrender everything willingly. That is what David did in Psalm 23.  I love David’s attitude of “No matter what, Lord, I know You have me.”

God, help me to live in that place of full surrender.  Looking for You always in all things.

Psalm 23

Leave a Reply

