What You Owe

Embed from Getty Images“Give to everyone what you owe them: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.” Romans 13:7 NIV

When I read this verse today, I realized it’s not just talking about taxes and debt.  In addition to debts, bills, taxes, interest, etc. it’s also talking about profit, respect and honor.  So I started to reflect.  I had to pause and think if I had ever been in a business dealing with someone and not shared the profit or credit with another that I should have?  I also had to pause and think about if I have ever withheld respect or honor from another person that I shouldn’t have?

Over the course of my lifetime, I have had many people offer a helping hand.  I am embarrassed to say that I have not recognized or fully appreciated every single one of them.  Some of them are gone now and I can’t say a proper thank you or show them my appreciation.  Some of them still have family members that I can share the respect and honor that I have for their late mother, father, sister or brother.  I say this because I believe it’s never too late.

My mom has been gone 23 years now.  It’s so hard for me to believe.  Some of the most precious things I receive now are stories about her that I haven’t heard before.  A dear friend’s little brother shared the most touching story with me about my mom.  It was like a precious jewel to read as he shared how she had befriended him as a child in Sunday school.

Father, help me share all the profit, credit, respect and honor that are due those who have helped me.  Show me the ways that I can share with their loved ones if they are gone.  More than anything Father, please help me share Your heart and Your spirit in all things, withholding nothing.

Luke 12:29-31, Mathew 7:1-2

Leave a Reply

