New Beginnings

Embed from Getty Images
“But Ruth said: “Entreat me not to leave you, Or to turn back from following after you; For wherever you go, I will go; And wherever you lodge, I will lodge; Your people shall be my people, And your God, my God.” Ruth 1:16 NKJV

Ruth exemplified the six D’s of new beginnings, making all things new:

Determination: “entreat me not to leave you”

Direction: “for wherever you go, I will go”

Dependence: “wherever you lodge, I will lodge”

Desire: “your people shall be my people”

Devotion: “your God shall be my God”

And finally, the sixth D which is in Ruth 1:17:

Dedication: “where you will die, I will die and there will I be buried”

The story of Ruth, Naomi and Boaz is beautiful.  However, the life Ruth chose was not for the faint of heart.  God’s hand of protection was on both Naomi and Ruth as they returned to Naomi’s homeland.  Ruth honored her mother-in-law and her wisdom.  While Ruth captured the favor of Boaz, her yielding to Naomi’s wisdom is what positioned her in the right place at the right time according to custom.

As we look at new beginnings, there is a yielding.  Yielding of our will to God’s will.  Yielding of our desires to God. Yielding of our flesh to our spirit.

God, teach me how to yield.

The book of Ruth, Revelation 21:5

Leave a Reply

