Consider

“ And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works,” Hebrews 10:24 NKJV

Consider one another.  In a world full of dependence, codependence and independence, what does that look like?  What is healthy consideration versus unhealthy consideration?

I have to go to the verse before this one for grounding:

 “Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.” Hebrews 10:23 NKJV

If we get caught up in looking at each other first instead of God, things get twisted. We start to look at each other in an unhealthy way.  The horizontal axis of relationships in our life become bigger than the vertical axis of our relationship with God.  That is backwards but really easy to do.  God simply waits for us to come to Him.  If we do not make a conscious effort to go to Him first, it shuts down the dialog.

If we forget to go to God first in our considerations, we end up deluding ourselves into thinking that we are the solution.  I have learned that God leads and I follow in every situation.  He will clear the path every time as long as I don’t run ahead and lose site of Him.

So here is what it looks like for me as I consider others through God’s lens:

Lord, help me to hold fast to hope in You for all things.  Show me how to love like You do.  Give me eyes to see and ears to hear when I need to move and when I need to be still. I pray to remain, endure and wait in faith, hope and love; and most of all love.

Hebrews 10:23-25, 1 Corinthians 13:12-13, Acts 2:44-47

One thought on “Consider

Leave a Reply

