Not My Battle

Embed from Getty Images“He said: “Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.” 2 Chronicles 20:15 NIV

Sometimes I get caught up thinking the battle is mine.  I get overwhelmed. I start to worry.  I go into overdrive thinking of my strategy, my first plan of action, my backup plans of action – plan A, B, C, D, etc.  It’s exhausting!  Not to mention, it was not God’s intention for us to live in that highly stressful,  self-reliant way.  He designed us to rely on Him.

I have to remember THE BATTLE IS NOT MINE. Even as I write these devotionals every morning, I have to remember that these words are not mine.  I have to trust that in doing this I am following God’s battle plan.  I have to believe that whether these words are read by one person or thousands, God has designed every word and moment for someone special.  Even if it is a word that I need to hear as the writer!

Lord, give us all courage to lean into You when the battles come.  Help us remember that it is not our battle, but Yours. Give us courage and strength to simply take the position you have assigned to us and stand firm. Thank you for Your promise to deliver.

2 Chronicles 20:1-24

Leave a Reply

