R-E-S-P-E-C-T


2 “Now the overseer is to be above reproach, faithful to his wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, not given to drunkenness, not violent but gentle, not quarrelsome, not a lover of money.” 1 Timothy 3:2-3 NIV

I was reading a devotional that did a beautiful job describing the characteristics of a respectable leader.  It made me ask myself the question:

“What area of my character needs growth and transformation to solicit respect?”

I read and prayed over these areas:

  • God-fearing (Exodus 18:21)
  • Person of truth (Exodus 18:21)
  • Hate dishonest gain (Exodus 18:21)
  • Hates bribes (Proverbs 15:27)
  • Protects the sheep and does not run (John 10:12-13)
  • Does not cause dissensions or contradict God’s word (Romans 16:17-18)

Father, search my heart and show me any areas that need transformation so that I can be a respectable representation of You each day.

Exodus 18:21, Proverbs 15:27, John 10:12-13, Romans 16:17-18, Proverbs 12:8

Leave a Reply

