The Virtuous Woman


A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.”  Proverbs 31:10 NIV

I have to be honest. The description of the Proverbs 31 woman has historically been very daunting for me, even shame producing. Overwhelming at times. I read the words and I get tired even imagining all the tasks outlined. So I prayed about it.

How did the virtuous woman serve others? She:

  • Inspired trust
  • Held her husbands’s heart safe
  • Does what is best for her husband, never being harmful or hurtful
  • Works with delight and selects the best things
  • Selects delicacies to bring home
  • Rises early to prepare food for her family and help
  • Has a plan–she thoughtfully invests in the future
  • Is strong and confident; a hard worker
  • Is successful; she can work into the night
  • Makes/builds things for her family
  • Reaches out to the poor and extends mercy to the needy
  • Makes her beds like royalty
  • Trades goods and services, even internationally
  • Looks forward to the future with strength and dignity
  • Has wise and kind conversations
  • Takes charge of her household and is not lazy

Her husband is a respected leader. Her children and husband praise her; bless her.

As I prayed, I heard the Lord say, “Do not let the virtuous woman scriptures trigger shame in you.” I was so thankful. What I realized is that my mind is my marketplace. That is where I build my trade. It is not a tangible trade. It is more virtual; more technology based. It is a world of work very different from centuries ago. And it is not less valuable…just different.

Father, help me embrace how the virtuous woman is expressed today and in me. I repent for comparison to others. Father, thank you for creating us all uniquely to contribute to the body of Christ. Help me not only embrace my own contributions but also the contributions of others. We are all wonderfully and beautifully made in Your image.

Proverbs 31:10-31, 1 John 5:1

2 thoughts on “The Virtuous Woman

Leave a Reply

