I’m Sorry

Embed from Getty Images
“In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, David sent Joab out with the king’s men and the whole Israelite army. They destroyed the Ammonites and besieged Rabbah. But David remained in Jerusalem.” 2 Samuel 11:1 NIV

When we are not listening to God we can get into trouble.  God’s timing. God’s will. God’s purpose. They all work to the good of those that love Him.  We show our love by having hearts that are quick to be obedient.

David was supposed to be at war.  Instead he hung back and got into all kinds of trouble.  He invited trouble into his own house when he was disobedient. He lost a son for it. But God never departed from him. God never stopped loving David.  Even though he messed up, he was quick to admit it and ask for forgiveness.  David was quick to own his mistakes and turn his heart back to God.

Sometimes I waste a lot of time trying to rationalize mistakes.  I don’t own them very quickly and run back to God.  Instead I might wear them around for a while.  I might try to justify them to myself.  Try to make myself feel ok with stepping out of what I know to be true.  It’s exhausting.  And it separates me from God.

Because Jesus died on the cross for us, we are blessed.  Our sins are forgiven. Our sin will never be counted against us.

Father, thank you for giving us a way back to You.  If there is anyone reading this that wants to accept Your way, I pray they look to you now and pray this prayer:

“Jesus, thank you for dying on the cross for my sins.  Please forgive me for any wrong that I have done.  Please come into my heart and wash it white as snow.  Change my heart so that it looks like Yours.  In Your Precious Name I pray, Amen!”

Be blessed and know that you are a child of The King!

Romans 8:28, Psalm 51:17, Romans 4:6-8, John 3:16

Leave a Reply

