In The Quiet


“Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” Mark 6:31 NIV

These words sound so caring: “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” It is in that quiet place with God that He is able to really do transformational things with my heart.  In the quiet, I can choose to set everything else aside.  In the quiet, choices can be weighed prayerfully, thoughtfully and intentionally.  In the quiet, confusion, distortion or busyness can be silenced. In the quiet, the focus becomes singular. In the quiet, I can hear God’s voice.

I have to choose to retreat to a quiet place. I have to choose to rest in God. In the quiet, I have to let go of my plan and embrace His.  In the quiet, my plan seems kind of silly.

One winter evening after I had said good-bye to my beautiful daughter and sent her off to school, I sat in the quiet.  I was tucked under the covers in my lazy boy.  It was cold outside.  I began thanking God for His watchful care over my daughter.  I thanked Him for the wonderful day we had together and for the precious gift He had given me. As I was reflecting on our day together, I began to pray that we all come to know His Perfect Love. I asked Him to stretch me to understand and appreciate His Love. I thanked Him for His grace and mercy. His compassion. His forgiveness.

I was tucked away listening to praise music lightly in the background. That evening I read quietly.  I began to give thanks and appreciate the talents of so many others. My dog and my cat were nestled in beside me; quietly for a change. Popcorn and cider was my dinner for the evening. As I sat there I began to feel a happiness wash over me. It was Friday night. It was quiet. I was alone. And I was so very happy. It was a discourse with God that been ongoing throughout the evening. Several times I thought about jumping up to do things…And then I would catch myself.  Not now. Not tonight. That night I savored the moments. The quiet moments. The dialog was filled with encouragement and support on many fronts of my life.  It was refreshing and full of rest.

Proverbs 17:1, Ecclesiastes 9:17, Isaiah 30:15, 32:17; 1 Thessalonians 4:11

Leave a Reply

