Luscious Fruit


1”Oh, the joys of those who do not follow evil men’s advice, who do not hang around with sinners, scoffing at the things of God. But they delight in doing everything God wants them to, and day and night are always meditating on his laws and thinking about ways to follow him more closely. They are like trees along a riverbank bearing luscious fruit each season without fail. Their leaves shall never wither, and all they do shall prosper.” Psalm 1:1-3 The Living Bible

How much time do I spend meditating on the following God’s Word and thinking about how I can follow Him more closely?  I mean truly meditate and reflect on areas of my life for improvement in those two areas…

Sometimes I have a very clear sense of the direction I am to take.  In spite of that, I can become squirmy and not trust that God has me.  I might complain, whine, and murmur to others about what I see in going on instead of trusting God is handling what I can’t see in His own divine way.  Then of course there is the whole issue of waiting on it!

I am not perfect.  I have to tell God I’m sorry when I hit those spots and ask for His grace and mercy. That is the thing about walking in faith, we don’t know what we don’t know.  We don’t know what we can’t see.  We have to trust God.  We have to give our hearts over to a way that might feel unfamiliar and risky.

On occasion I have been timid in stepping out in faith.  In moments of prayer I will get the nudge to engage.  His engagement is different.  It values my contribution in a way the world may not.  It is not full of busyness that is unproductive.  It is mindful, efficient and fruitful.  I am not promoting myself. He does it for me: through relationships, divine appointments, sometimes through faith.  The key is I can feel the difference.

When His hand is in it there is a flow of ease and it is beautiful.  I can see or sense the fruit of change; a shift.

When my hand is in it there is a heaviness that can feel laborious and tiresome and even full of pressure.  I can sense that I have assumed a burden.  It make feel like there are obstacles at every turn.  That is when I know to stop.  Simply stop.  Revisit my heart and go back to spend some time in prayer. Often the solution has been to let go of what I have been toiling over. Sometimes it’s that simple.

Father give me the boldness to step into whatever You ask.  Teach me and remind me to meditate on Your Word and reflect on how I can follow You more closely every day.

Proverbs 16:21, Lamentations 3:22, Jeremiah 17:5, Zechariah 4:6, Hebrews 12:28-29

Leave a Reply

